Document and data management for enterprise products

October 2017 - December 2017
Customer: Leading swiss company in telecommunication
Extension of an existing application for configuration of SharePoint Site templates and development of an extending document management solution for managing enterprise product data and documents.

The site template configuration covers configuration of basic settings for the site to be provisioned as well as the preparation of complex lists and document libraries, term management, managed search properties and content enrichment by the SharePoint Search Service.

The solution is developed as a provider-hosted SharePoint 2016 Add-In. The MVC backend being based upon the existing system additionally provides a WCF service to query matching documents in all site collections being created with the configured site template live from the partner extranet CMS with a custom XML query schema. The XML has been programmatically transformed into a valid KQL query, which then was passed to the SharePoint Search Service. The result has been returned as XML according to the service contract.

Finally all documents and data were migrated from the previous environment – based on SharePoint 2010. A set of self-developed PowerShell scripts were used for creating approx. 500 Site Collections and migrating and post-processing their content and data via ShareGate.

Dokumentenmanagement und Datenverwaltung für Geschäftskunden-Produkte

Oktober 2017 - Dezember 2017
Kunde: Führendes Schweizer Telekommunikationsunternehmen
Erweiterung eine bestehenden Applikation zur Konfiguration von SharePoint Site-Templates und Entwicklung einer darauf aufbauenden Dokumentenmanagement-Lösung zur Verwaltung von Geschäftskunden-Produkten.

Die Konfiguration der Site-Templates umfasst dabei die Konfiguration von Basiseinstellungen der zu provisionierenden Site bis hin zur Vorbereitung komplexer Listen und Dokumentenbibliotheken, Term- Management, Managed Search Properties und Content Enrichment durch den SharePoint Search Service.

Die Lösung wird dabei als provider-hosted SharePoint 2016 Add-In entwickelt. Das auf dem bestehenden System aufbauende MVC-Backend wurde dabei zusätzlich um einen WCF-Service erweitert, über welchen aus dem CMS des Partner-Extranet live anhand eines speziellen XML- Abfrageschemas passende Dokumente aus allen anhand des konfigurierten Site- Templates erstellten Site-Collections selektiert werden. Hierzu wurde das XML transformiert in eine valide KQL-Abfrage, welche dann programmatisch an den SharePoint Search Service übergeben wurde. Das Ergebnis wurde anschliessend gemäß des Service Contracts als XML zurückgeliefert.

Abschließend wurden aus der früheren Dokumentenablage – basierend auf SharePoint 2010 – alle Daten migriert. Hierbei kamen eigens entwickelte PowerShell-Scripts zum Einsatz, mittels welcher ca. 500 Site-Collections angelegt wurden und via ShareGate automatisiert deren Inhalt migriert und nachbearbeitet wurde.